Celebri-sneaks

Celebrities are the new designers.

Or so they hope, anyway. These days, it’s not enough for a celebrity to just be a triple threat, they have to have a multi-hyphenate title like singe-preneu-tress or something. Yes I totally made that up. But you know what I mean. Now celebrities are not content to just being an actress, singer, model or dancer. They have to do it all: act, sing, dance (at the very least taking part in Dancing With The Stars), model, design clothes, shoes, handbags, accessories, put their names and faces on fragrances, write, DJ… everything.

I’m not sure I like it so much, since I’m a struggling writer and all. If celebrities start writing novels, then who’s going to buy my novels? They’re out on Amazon.com by the way (shameless promotion).

But back to celebrity designers. We know that some celebrities have achieved success with their clothing line, from Gwen Stefani with L.A.M.B to P.Diddy with Sean John. Of course, not all of celebrity clothing lines are actually successful. Mandy Moore’s line “Emblem” wasn’t exactly flying off the rack, neither was Jennifer Lopez’s “Sweetface”.

Still, it didn’t seem to deter some celebrities from putting their stamps on our favorite apparels, and recently, rapper Kanye West and DJ/producer-extraordinaire Mark Ronson (the man behind Amy Winehouse’s critically-acclaimed album Back To Black, and the object of my obsession) have joined the bandwagon by creating their line of sneakers, in collaboration with design houses Louis Vuitton and Gucci, respectively.

I don’t know for sure how involved they are in the actual designing of the sneakers, but I have to say, their sneakers are actually pretty cool. I’m a big fan of sneakers and I absolutely love fashionable sneakers that are more meant to be worn on the red carpet or to a fabulous club than to run through Central Park in. As much as I love designer high heels (ooh, Louboutin), I’m the kind of girl that likes to put comfort above all else, and fashionable sneakers make my heart blossom with delight. They’re oh-so-chic yet comfortable. What more can you ask?

I’m not sure if the Kanye West’s LV sneakers or Mark Ronson’s Gucci sneakers come in women sizes… but they’re definitely in my wish list.

What do you think about these celebri-sneaks? Totally cool or totally lame? Love em or loathe em?

mark gucci

Photobucket

LAMB wedges

LAMB baby

xoxo

Binky Bee

2 responses to “Celebri-sneaks

  1. Mark’s sneakers look cool indeed. But Mark is perfect all the way 😉 Can’t get “Valerie” out of my mind…
    I like everything LAMB, including sneakers. Gwen has fantastic style and she is the rare example of successful celeb designer.
    I’m not excited about others: Jessica’ stilettos, Vick’s skinny jeans, JLo mini skirts… no, thanks!

  2. I know, Jessica’s stilettos are not all that great… VB’s skinny jeans? No, thanks! Overpriced! And thank heavens JLo’s clothing line has been shut down ;p

Leave a Reply

