Weeds Finale: Shane, “You badass motherfucker!”

weeds finale

If you haven’t seen the season finale of Weeds yet, please don’t continue reading this post because what I’m discussing here is a major spoiler and you’ll hate me forever for ruining the last few minutes (seconds, really) of the finale for you. But if you have, then I’m sure you probably have the same reaction as I did when the scene unfolded before your eyes.

My reaction was, “HOLY SHIT!”

Now, you have to understand that I live in a third-world country and I have no access to this show except through this great 21st century invention called “bittorrent” which basically allows me to watch the shows America is watching within a few hours to a day after it aired (depending on how fast it would download). And because the show was downloaded to my computer, I have to watch it on my computer (I’m way too lazy to convert it and burn it to a DVD, I’m not a pirate – yet!). So basically, I watched it while sitting behind my work desk (good thing I work from home), with headphones plugged in my ears and when I saw Shane clubbing Pilar in the head with (this makes me chuckle all the time) a croquet mallet. Suffice to say, when I shouted, “HOLY SHIT!”, my maid who was cleaning my house at the time, turned to me with a look that says, “Great. She’s talking to the screen again.”

But seriously, how good was that finale? And how much do we LOVE Shane Botwin this season?

For the last four seasons, despite Shane Botwin’s peculiar behaviors (talking to his dead father, uhm “entertaining himself” with a naked picture of his mother, losing his virginity in a threesome with his two classmates) and penchant for violence (shooting a mountain lion with a BB gun in season 1, biting his opponent’s foot in a karate match, beheading a little girl in a homemade terrorism video), we never thought Shane Botwin would actually snap, or as Silas puts it, “Going off the deep end”. But he did, and it was in the most awesome way possible.

I’m not condoning teenage violence of course, but seriously, that bitch had it coming. Let’s not forget that she was the one who ordered a hit on his mother, a hit that ended up putting a bullet in his arm. And just before Shane picked up the croquet mullet, Pilar was telling Nancy how she was going to have Nancy’s “extraneous” kids killed (and yes, that included him too). I would club to death anyone who dares to say shit like that to my mother.

Like Silas said to Shane when he pulled a knife on Adelita’s snooty heroin-addicted friends, Shane has really grown into a total badass motherfucker this season. And he didn’t even look horrified after Pilar fell to the pool and the blood just drifted away from her scheme-filled noggin like runny watercolor. He was still the cool, placid Shane, who got his older brother all worried when he stated blandly that he liked the pain of his gunshot wound, it made him feel in control. Total badass and absolutely creepy, which is the way we like it.

I think this season we really saw a big shift in characters. From seasons 1-4, Silas was always the troublemaker in the family. He got his girlfriend pregnant just so she wouldn’t go away to college, he got into the “family business” of selling (and later on, growing) pot, he had an affair with a cougar after they relocated to Ren Mar, among other things, but in Season 5, he has grown up and actually become the ‘adult’ in the family. He had a legitimate medical marijuana business (and if he hadn’t partnered with the lovable doofus Doug, it would probably still thrive), he refused an all-expense paid trip to Amsterdam aka the weed capital of the world to take care of his teetering-on-the-edge brother and let’s not forget his chivalrous act in taking care of drug-addled Adelita.

I kinda like this shift in characters, and I think this is the recipe that will get the viewers hooked and wait impatiently for the sixth (and possibly) final season. I have to admit, even though I still laugh my ass off at Doug and Celia’s antics, this season wasn’t as strong as the previous four. But with Shane suddenly blossoming into a creepy cold-blooded teenage killer/badass – my faith in the show is restored. I can’t wait until season 6 starts and we can see how Nancy wiggles her way out of this predicament and save Shane in the process.

So here’s to you, Shane Botwin. Thanks for being the badass motherfucker that you are, and making Weeds the most entertaining half hour show this summer.

Shane

What did you think of the finale?

4 responses to “Weeds Finale: Shane, “You badass motherfucker!”

  1. OMG Binky. This is also my favorite show. I lived in the USA all my life, and currently I reside in Cordoba, Argentina with my b/f, and I also keep up with my shows by the wonderful world of bittorrent! Your blog is fun, and you’re a great writer. And I also work from home…lol

  2. OMG, we have so much in common, isn’t bittorent the best?? ;p Thanks for reading my blog… and I will check yours out as well!

  3. Great post, Binky. I agree, Weeds is back in form. But one thing I disagree with; season four was the weakest season, in my opinion.

    Change is good, but 86ing Mahalia and Conrad was just plain stupid. And the antics with the border-crossing doofus duo of Andy and Doug became over the top. Problem is, Jinji Kohan’s incredible characters jumped the shark and turned into caricatures. This season has reeled back in a bit, but I would be ever so happy if the last and possibly final season of Weeds brought the old gang back together…and saw Nancy shed a few of her ever-expanding demons. Thanks for this awesome post!

  4. Thanks for reading it! I agree with you, I was really confused when Jenji Kohan scraped Mahalia & Conrad altogether. And I have to say I wasn’t that crazy about Esteban. I too hope next season old favorites like Mahalia & Conrad will return. I’m glad to see Sanjay is back and Celia becoming the new Nancy. It’d be interesting to see how Celia handles the “business” when the show returns. ;p

Leave a Reply

