Thank You For Being A Friend

I’m not Carrie Bradshaw.

That is to say, I’m not one that’s known for my female friendships. I’ve never really had close female friends, only a few here and there every few years. But in the last year and a half I’ve somehow managed to cultivate beautiful friendships with amazing women all over the world. I don’t know how or why, but as I approached my late 20s and early 30s, it became a lot easier for me to build female friendships, something that I found hard to do in my early 20s. Maybe it’s because I’m finally an ‘adult’, no longer testing my girl friends’ patience with my random acts of insanity. Whatever the reason is, I finally have good female friendships.

And now I not only have good female friends, I also have cultivated that friendship enough for me to enjoy having a writing partner. My friend The Beautiful Russian and I are in the process of writing my third (and our first) novel. Based loosely on our wild experiences in the twenties, this novel will be the first I’ve written in collaboration with another aspiring writer. And so far, it has been going pretty great, there were no “creative differences” or any of those bullshit. She knows my strengths and I know hers, and we’ve used them to create a solid story that I otherwise wouldn’t be able to do alone.

I guess it’s true when they say, “Two is better than one.”

In fact, I don’t think my second novel, Love/Fool: An Observation of Love In The City (still available on Amazon, cough shameless promotion cough) would’ve been finished if it weren’t for my good friend The Fab New Yorker, who patiently guided me through the glitz and glam of the New York’s upper crust world, a world I knew nothing about.

Let’s just say, my female friendships help cement my career as a writer/novelist. Without them, I’d just be the loser who claims to be a writer without anything to show for it.

And they say girls can’t play nice with each other.

Female friendships are unique and interesting, I think. We fight just as much as we laugh – and yet we stick together no matter what. And when men friendships fall into the stereotypical frat boys rituals of drinking, watching sports and going to strip joints or, as boys become men, hanging out on the golf course or in cigar clubs, female friendships don’t need the alcohol, sports, men, or anything. We can just sit together and have a good time.

You can always count on your female friends in the good or painfully tough times. They are the ones who are always there through the seasons, even if your friendships aren’t always smooth.

I always say, “Men are disposable, but friends are forever.”

I am grateful for my girl friends: The Beautiful Russian, The Fab New Yorker, The Punk Momma, and many more.

And I love that TV has always celebrated female friendships, so that whenever I’m down or feeling like I’m alone in this cruel world, all I have to do is just watch my favorite shows and I’m reminded of the amazing, gorgeous and incredibly sincere girl friends.

Here are my favorite TV female friendships:

Blair and Serena
Blair Waldorf & Serena Van Der Woodsen, Gossip Girl

Summer and Marissa
Summer Roberts & Marissa Cooper, The OC

Photobucket
Lily Aldrin-Erikssen & Robin Scherbatsky, How I Met Your Mother

friends
Monica Geller, Rachel Green & Phoebe Buffay, Friends

sex and the city
Charlotte York-Goldenblatt, Samantha Jones, Carrie Bradshaw, Miranda Hobbes, Sex and The City

And of course, I can’t forget the original TV female friends, the ones who always remind us to say to our BFF, “Thank you for being a friend…”

4 responses to “Thank You For Being A Friend

  1. I’m almost crying! Feel the same but I would never be able to express it so perfectly
    xoxo

  2. I’m just so inspired by you, babe! xoxo

  3. bella told me about this blog! I’m all over it,love it so far!
    kisses binkyliscious!

  4. Thanks baby ;p I’ll definitely advertise on Facebook, but I just never check my FB anymore lol. Glad you like this… xoxo

Leave a Reply

