Wasting The Weekend Away

Another weekend rolls around, and all of us breathe a sigh of relief. Finally, we have time to do whatever we want.

I don’t know if anyone else has this problem, but sometimes I have NO idea what to do on the weekend. At least with work, I know what I have to do, but with the absence of responsibilities… I just don’t know what to do.

That’s not to say I don’t know how to be lazy, I love to sleep and just lie in bed all day. But after I’ve had enough sleep, what next?

So I thought I’d come up with some sort of plan to waste the weekend away.

And the best way to start is always with a good movie or two.

I’d recommend watching these two critically-acclaimed movies this weekend, if you haven’t seen them already:

Inglourious Basterds
Inglourious Basterds: Quentin Tarantino’s take on “killing Nazis”. If you like Jews with guns and kicking Nazi’s ass, you’ll love this movie.

District 9
District 9: This movie’s been out for a while, but if you haven’t seen it already, then you’re missing out. It’s groundbreaking filmmaking at its best.

If you’re too lazy to go out of the house and make your way to the cinema (that happens to me all the time!), you can always settle with a good movie on DVD. I’d recommend chillin’ on your bed and watching these gems:

Sunshine Cleaning
Sunshine Cleaning: I love both Amy Adams and Emily Blunt, and you need to see this movie not only because they play sisters but also because the story is so good. I love Amy Adams’ character, how she keeps her spirits up despite all her troubles, and of course Alan Arkin totally steals the show with his amazing portrayal of Amy Adams’ get-rich-quick-scheme loving father.

Seventeen Again
Seventeen Again: I know what you’re thinking. Zac Efron? No thanks! I get it, I was a skeptic too. Especially since I try to avoid anything with him or any of his High School Musical cast. But, I gave in and watch the movie anyway, and it didn’t suck. First, despite his unfortunate start as a tween heartthrob, Zac Efron can ACTUALLY act. I’m just as surprised as you are. He was funny and endearing in the movie, which was something I didn’t expect at all. I wasn’t even bothered by his too-pretty-for-a-man face by the end of the movie. Also, Thomas Lennon and Hunter Parrish were actually hilarious in it. And Melora Hardin, she proves she can be more than just Jan from The Office in this movie.

Finally, for TV on DVD, I’d recommend watching:

Leverage
Leverage: You know how you read about or see the injustice happening around you to good people and you wish you could do something to basically make those suckers pay for what they did? Well, watch Leverage and you’ll feel all warm and fuzzy inside. The TNT show starring Academy Award-winner Timothy Hutton and Angel alumn Christian Kane tells to story about Nate Ford, an ex-Insurance Investigator who enlisted the help of a thief, a grifter, a hacker and a “hitter” in a series of Robin Hood type schemes: conning the rich and powerful to help out those who they have treated with injustice. With each episode, you feel triumphant as the team once again managed to kick those evil doers in the ass and help out the good people who have been treated with injustice. Like Parker (played brilliantly by Beth Riesgraf) said: “Sometimes bad guys are the only good guys you have.”

Have a good weekend!

xoxo

Binky Bee

Leave a Reply

