Inspiration Board

It’s September and it means one thing in the fashion world: “fashion week”.

For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about “fashion week”, whether in New York, Paris, London or Milan is where designers and various design houses unveil their collection for the next seasons. September Fashion Week showcases the Spring/Summer collection and February Fashion Week showcases the Fall/Winter collection.

Both designers and fashionistas alike would fight tooth and nail to get inside the tents in Bryant Park for New York Fashion Week, and one of my goals in life is to be sitting in the front row with my mouth dangling open just admiring the newest collections from my favorite designers.

One day.

Those who think fashion is beneath them (pretentious douches who choose to look like homeless people – and even smell like one – just to sound intelligent and deep) use words like “superficial”, “ridiculous” and “consumerism” to describe the fashion industry, but really, they’re full of shit. They have no idea what it takes to put out a collection that is cohesive (Nina Garcia’s favorite word), beautiful and inspiring.

Before the models can strut down the runway, before the clothes are fitted and sown, before there’s even a design on paper, the designers would put together a mood board, where they collate their research, inspiration, drawing, photography, colors that basically serve as a jumping off point for their whole collection.

Anna Sui's Mood Board

Anna Sui's Mood Board

I’m not a fashion designer but I find the idea of a mood board or inspiration board interesting. When I was younger, I loved creating mood boards by cutting up old magazines and pictures and pasting them on any board that I can find. Of course now with my life being more virtual than anything, I don’t make actual mood boards anymore (plenty of things can go wrong when you give me super glue and scissors) but I do still make them, using the magic of technology. Whether with design websites such as Polyvore or Photoshop, whenever I start work on my new book, I’d create a mood board that will serve as a jumping off point for my story. And whenever I hit a wall, or start experiencing the dreaded writer’s block, I’d go back to my board and it would inspire me to continue writing.

So today, I thought I’d share with you the things in my mood board, the things that inspire me lately. Who knows, maybe it’ll inspire you too.

1/ Family. The best inspiration is always the one closest to home, and my family consists of amazing people who never cease to inspire me every day with their spirit, tenacity, talent and love.

"I love my little circus freak!"

"I love my little circus freak!" - Lorelai Gilmore, Gilmore Girls

2/ French films. I’ve always loved French cinema, the very un-Hollywood nature of it is what makes it so interesting. I’m really into the nouvelle vague (French new wave) films now, I definitely have a renewed appreciation for them in the recent years.

"Cinema is the most beautiful fraud in the world." - Jean-Luc Godard

"Cinema is the most beautiful fraud in the world." - Jean-Luc Godard

3/ Geek chic. Let’s face it, geek is the new chic. Geeks rule the world; and have been since the internet was discovered and our lives were changed forever. I’m fascinated by the “geek culture”: from geeky but incredibly cool characters on TV and films, to geek chic fashion that has taken over the runway.

"What did I tell you? The age of the geeks, baby!" - Hardison in Leverage

"What did I tell you? The age of the geeks, baby!" - Hardison, Leverage

4/ Cool print ads. I used to work in advertising, so paying attention to interesting and cool print ads has become a second nature for me. My favorites are still the Absolut Vodka ad campaigns. It’s genius in its simplicity.

"Advertising is based on one thing, happiness. And you know what happiness is? Happiness is the smell of a new car." - Don Draper, Mad Men

"Advertising is based on one thing, happiness. And you know what happiness is? Happiness is the smell of a new car." - Don Draper, Mad Men

5/ Indie filmmakers. So many indie films have inspired me in the last few years, and I owe it all to these guys: from established and critically-acclaimed directors like Kevin Smith, Quentin Tarantino, Steven Sorderbergh and Jim Jarmusch, the newer crop of directors making their debut at Sundance every year.

"I love independent filmmaking. I don't agree with a lot of it, but that's the point." - Gena Rowlands

"I love independent filmmaking. I don't agree with a lot of it, but that's the point." - Gena Rowlands

6/ Libraries. We don’t have too many great libraries (I don’t think one good one even exists) where I live, but I love the smell of old books, and just looking at so many pictures of great libraries on the web can inspire me.

"I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library." - Jorge Luis Borges

"I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library." - Jorge Luis Borges

7/ Love. I’m not a romantic, but I am one of the lucky ones who realize that it’s good to love and be loved in return.

"For one human being to love another; that is perhaps the most difficult of all our tasks, the ultimate, the last test and proof, the work for which all other work is but preparation." - Rainer Maria Rilke

"For one human being to love another; that is perhaps the most difficult of all our tasks, the ultimate, the last test and proof, the work for which all other work is but preparation." - Rainer Maria Rilke

8/ Modern minimalist interior. What can I say? I love IKEA!

"Keep it simple, stupid." - Anonymous

"Keep it simple, stupid." - Anonymous

9/ Tough chicks. I’m not talking about those girls who can beat the crap out of people, but more about women whose odds were against them and yet came out on top anyway. Women who have been to hell and back and yet they managed to stand strong, beautiful and fabulous. I’ll never stop being inspired by them.

“I need someone physically stronger than me.... I am always on top. It's really unfortunate. I am begging for the man that can put me on the bottom. Or the woman. Anybody that can take me down.” - Angelina Jolie

“I need someone physically stronger than me.... I am always on top. It's really unfortunate. I am begging for the man that can put me on the bottom. Or the woman. Anybody that can take me down.” - Angelina Jolie

10/ Rainy days. Even though they bring traffic jams and flood sometimes, I still love rainy days. I love the smell of rain falling on the ground, it lifts my spirits somehow.

"Hanging around, nothing to do but frown. Rainy days and Mondays always get me down." - The Carpenters

"Hanging around, nothing to do but frown. Rainy days and Mondays always get me down." - The Carpenters

11/ Architecture. Maybe it’s because I’m moving house soon, but I have a new appreciation for architecture lately. I love old buildings, but when it comes to places I actually want to live in, I always prefer the minimalist designs of Swedish architecture.

"All architecture is shelter, all great architecture is the design of space that contains, cuddles, exalts, or stimulates the persons in that space." - Phillip Johnson

"All architecture is shelter, all great architecture is the design of space that contains, cuddles, exalts, or stimulates the persons in that space." - Phillip Johnson

12/ Pastries. I don’t like to eat cake, but I do love looking at them. And every time I walk past a cake shop or bakery, I am always inspired by the explosion of colors and cuteness from the cakes, so much so that I am planning to buy plastic cupcakes to decorate my room.

"Let them eat cake!" - Marie Antoinette

"Let them eat cake!" - Marie Antoinette

13/ New York City. I think it’s pretty apparent from the fact that most of my novels are set in Manhattan that this city constantly inspires me.

“One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in five years.” - Thomas Wolfe

“One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in five years.” - Thomas Wolfe

14/ Fashion photography. This goes hand in hand with my love for fashion. Each day, I discover new fashion photographers and each day, I’m amazed by their talent and their vision. I’ve just discovered the amazing work of Camilla Akrans a few weeks ago, and now I’m truly hooked.

"It takes a lot of imagination to be a good photographer. You need less imagination to be a painter, because you can invent things. But in photography everything is so ordinary; it takes a lot of looking before you learn to see the ordinary.” - David Bailey

"It takes a lot of imagination to be a good photographer. You need less imagination to be a painter, because you can invent things. But in photography everything is so ordinary; it takes a lot of looking before you learn to see the ordinary.” - David Bailey

What inspires you lately?

xoxo

Binky Bee

5 responses to “Inspiration Board

  1. n.v. for sure!I can talk about this one,love art films!
    architecture too,dance theater (i missed that so much..),visual arts and your book ideas!I’d love to hear about your new ideas binks!

  2. September is my fav month of the year,well,December too -Christmas time :))

  3. I’m big on inspiration boards! Do it for creative projects in my agency (sadly not much of creative stuff is going on lately) and do clippings from mag’s for myself all the time – which is your No.4
    I am definitely No. 9 married to No.3
    I just sent you a piece for a project and it has references to your No.2 French film and No.8 IKEA.
    Yes, it’s absolutely about No.7
    Ain’t we made for each other?

  4. September is my fav month too. I think it’s most inspiring. Like all new fall collections in shop windows. Like to get together with friends who are coming back from vacations and telling stories about new jobs and new lovers.

  5. GG, I have so much to tell you about book ideas, I’ll send you a message on Facebook.

    Bella, we are made for each other, I knew it! You’re my better half ;p I have received your email, I’ll read it and give you comments soon. I’m still tweaking the first chapter (I’m a perfectionist, I’m basically done I just need to keep editing it ;p), I’ll email it to you soon.

    And girls, you have no idea how much I miss autumn…

Leave a Reply

