Home Is Where The Heart Is

I’m moving house at the end of the year.

We’ve purchased the house five years ago, but we haven’t moved in yet, instead we leased it to a Korean family for two years, and after their lease was up last year, it’s been left empty while we tried to sell it off.

Since it doesn’t seem like we’re going to find a buyer in time, we decided to just move in once the lease in our current house is up. The reason why we were so reluctant to move is because the house is located a little outside of the city, and even though we like that the air is fresher, and it’s so much quieter, the fact that we have to struggle to get into the city everyday is something we’re not really looking forward to.

But, hey, you gotta work with what you have, right?

With the reality of having to move now imprinted in my brain, I start to research things that I usually could care less about, house decor or interior decorations. Moving to a new house means that I get to start over on a clean canvas, which opens up a million possibilities and ideas.

The problem with a million ideas is how to actually make it work.

So I decided to break down my ideas room per room, how I want, or vision, it to be.

1/ Bedroom. So many choices, so many ideas! I was thinking of making my bedroom colorful, but I’m not sure how it would work with the tiles that already come with the house. I think the best idea would be taking a leaf out of John Mayer’s page, since his choice of wall color matches the tiles in my house. And I do love the full-length mirror!

Modern, Colorful Bedroom

Modern, Colorful Bedroom

Boho chic Bedroom

Boho chic Bedroom

Mod New York Bedroom

Mod New York Bedroom

John Mayer's "Your Bedroom Is A Wonderland"

John Mayer's "Your Bedroom Is A Wonderland"

2/ Dining room. We don’t have a lot of space, so I have to look for inspiration that doesn’t take up too much space and doesn’t use a lot of heavy furniture. I love the idea of a “breakfast nook” since it doesn’t take up much space and it’s cute and comfy.

Aerin Lauder's East Hampton Breakfast Nook

Aerin Lauder's East Hampton Breakfast Nook

John Mayer's NY Apartment's Dining Room

John Mayer's NY Apartment's Dining Room

3/ Kitchen. This is more my mom’s territory than mine, but I do benefit from her cooking so I have to think of the perfect kitchen for her too. I love Badgley Mischka’s Kentucky home kitchen, since it has a lot of storage. The only problem is that our house is pretty small… so we have to find a way to apply the idea in a smaller space.

Badgley Mischka's Kentucky Kitchen

Badgley Mischka's Kentucky Kitchen

Badgley Mischka's Kentucky Kitchen Storage

Badgley Mischka's Kentucky Kitchen Storage

Another idea would be combining the kitchen and the dining area in one space, like this boho Brooklyn apartment:

Boho Kitchen and Dining

Boho Kitchen and Dining

Or in this mod-style New York apartment:

Mod New York Kitchen

Mod New York Kitchen

Or, scrap the dining room idea and just use the kitchen counter as the dining table, like in Samantha Jones’ Meatpacking District apartment (Sex and The City):

Samantha Jones' Kitchen

Samantha Jones' Kitchen

4/ Walk-In Closet. You can’t have two women in the house and not provide them with a walk-in closet, that’s just a recipe for disaster. We’ve made it a point to convert the area in front of the bathroom into a walk-in closet, now we just have to think about the design. Anna Sui’s walk-in closet fits my personality best, since it’s a little cluttered and haphazard. But my mom might not like it so much, so I have to consider other options. Jamie-Lynn Sigler’s walk-in closet would be perfect since it works in a smaller space. I love the colors of Nicky Hilton’s closet though, so we may end up with a combination of all three.

Anna Sui's Walk-In Closet

Anna Sui's Walk-In Closet

Jamie-Lynn Sigler's Walk-In Closet

Jamie-Lynn Sigler's Walk-In Closet

Nicky Hilton's Walk-In Closet

Nicky Hilton's Walk-In Closet

5/ Office/Library. I work from home, so I need a home office and we have a ton of books so a library is imperative. In our current home, we have to store the books in the back patio, inside waterproof plastic boxes because we have no place to store them. So  now I’m thinking of converting the downstairs bedroom into the office/library, where I can work, and we can store our many, many books. This will be tricky, but I’ve got some pretty great references here – hopefully we’ll find a way to make it work.

Aerin Lauder's East Hampton Library

Aerin Lauder's East Hampton Library

Mod New York Library

Mod New York Library

Boho Library

Boho Library

6/ Living Room. To be honest, I’m not sure we have much to work with, the space looks so damn small. But, we will be renovating the house before we move in, so hopefully we can do something about that space. In any case, it looks like we’ll have a living room downstairs and a family room upstairs to work with. I like John Mayer’s living room, but it’s a little too big. However, the clean designs from Armani Casa could be applied to our new house.

John Mayer's Living Room

John Mayer's Living Room

I also love the comfy, cozy feel of this mod-style New York apartment’s living room, which can work for our family room upstairs.

Mod New York Living Room

Mod New York Living Room

One vision that I’ve always wanted for my house is to decorate it like Carrie Bradshaw’s apartment in Sex and The City. It’s a way of bringing the eclectic chic of New York City in my house in obscure land. But now that Carrie has completely redecorated her apartment – I can’t help but wonder, which really suits my personality better? I prefer her old decor for her – but I kinda love the colors and the modern take of her new decor. Which do you prefer?

Carrie's Entryway: Pre-Movie

Carrie's Entryway: Pre-Movie

Carrie's Living Room Pre-Movie

Carrie's Living Room Pre-Movie

Carrie's Bedroom Pre-Movie

Carrie's Bedroom Pre-Movie

Carrie's Closet Pre-Movie

Carrie's Closet Pre-Movie

Carrie's Living Room: Movie

Carrie's Living Room: Movie

Carrie's Workspace: Movie

Carrie's Workspace: Movie

Carrie's Bedroom: Movie

Carrie's Bedroom: Movie

Carrie's Closet & Vanity: Movie

Carrie's Closet & Vanity: Movie

Not sure if this is helping my dilemma, but hopefully some great ideas will come out of this. What interior design will you recommend? What kind of style do you love most?

xoxo

Binky Bee

One response to “Home Is Where The Heart Is

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

