Sara Beth And The Magic Nails

Like I told you in my previous posts, I am writing a new novel at the moment, the first one of my novels that I actually write in collaboration with my friend and Brand Manager The Beautiful Russian. And since this is the first collaborative novel, I’m excited and nervous at the same time. I’ve written something, but threw it in the recycle bin immediately because I wasn’t feeling it. It’s one thing trying to communicate your vision in writing, it’s another trying to communicate someone else’s vision and yours at the same time. Nina Garcia’s words in Project Runway keeps floating in my mind: “It has to be cohesive!”, to which I respond, “I KNOW, Nina!”

(Yes, I turn into a schizophrenic freak whenever I write.)

Anyway, since I’m already trying something different with this project, I thought I’d involve you in the process as well. Unlike my previous two novels: The Rebirth of Love and Reason and Love/Fool: An Observation of Love In The City this time, you’ll get a play-by-play of my process in writing this novel. My friend who I fondly call Creepy McCreepster (he’s not really that creepy, don’t worry) thinks that I shouldn’t reveal to anyone what I’m writing but this time I feel like I have to, because now I’m not just accountable to myself but I’m accountable to my friend The Beautiful Russian too – and involving you all in this process will help me to stay focused and not get distracted by little things like… watching Freaks and Geeks online, again, instead of writing.

The only thing I will not reveal is the actual story, chapter by chapter and scene by scene because I do want you to buy the novel once it’s out ;p

The good thing about working with a partner is that I don’t have to spend a lot of time building the foundation. The Beautiful Russian has laid out the ground work for me and all I have to do is just start writing out the story.

The novel is (tentatively) titled Sara Beth and The Magic Nails and it is set, once again, in New York City. What can I say? I heart NY!

Sara Beth and The Magic Nails tells the story of five women whose lives are changed forever from a chance encounter in a small nail salon in Brooklyn, NY, where a shy 20-something Jewish girl with a murky past, Sara Beth, works as a manicurist. I can’t share any more since I’m still writing the story and what usually happens when I write is that I’d develop the characters, and they will basically take over me and lead me down the rabbit hole, so to speak. I told you, I’m totally schizo when I write.

One essential process before I begin any writing is to create a mood board (like what I shared with you before), and Sara Beth is no exception. The mood board not only helps me to focus on the end before I even begin, it’s a great source of inspiration… so whenever I am stuck, I can just turn to it and I’ll be back on track again.

Today, I will share with you the mood board for “Sara Beth and The Magic Nails”. I don’t know if it’ll inspire you as much as it does me, but I hope it’s interesting enough to make you curious about the novel.

"Sara Beth and The Magic Nails" Mood Board

"Sara Beth and The Magic Nails" Mood Board

In the next few posts, I’ll share with you the characters’ mood boards and description. Make sure you check back in!

Follow me on Twitter to get the latest development.

xoxo

Binky Bee

2 responses to “Sara Beth And The Magic Nails

  1. i can’t wait girls for that one of a kind collaboration! keep us posted binks!!

  2. Don’t worry, I will, GG! ;p

Leave a Reply

