Blocked

45

I have writer’s block.

And it came at the worst possible time, when I’m in the middle of writing my third novel.

All I do now is just stare at blank (word doc) pages all day.

91

Well, among other things. Being completely blocked does give me time to do things I don’t normally do when I’m writing my novel, and here are a few things I’ve discovered:

One: Glee is beyond awesome.

glee-club-picture_499x345in-class-in-love

Not only is it extremely funny, with lines like:

I don’t trust a man with curly hair. I can’t help but picture little birds laying sulfurous eggs in there, and it disgusts me.

It also has awesome music, their own Glee-club version of popular tunes from the 80s to today (who knew Avril Lavigne’s Keep Holding On is actually a good song?), a good dose of drama and reality mix in and, my favorite part, gorgeous man candy with a sweet smile, dreamy eyes and raspy voice that makes your toe curl when he starts belting out cheesy 80s songs.

finn-and-puck

His name is Finn Hudson (played by Canadian hottie Cory Monteith) and he may be a “frankenteen” and “can’t tell the difference between left and right” (you really have to see the show to understand what I’m talking about) but the moment he opens his mouth and starts to serenade you with a rendition of REO Speedwagon’s “Can’t Fight This Feeling”, I guarantee you’ll start melting like butter on a hot sunny day.

Two: I really, really like being by myself.

1

When I first read “Letters To A Young Poet”, I never really understood why Rilke would recommend solitude to anyone – but now I get what he was talking about. As much as I love spending time with my loved ones, I get the most joy from just being all alone, lying in bed with my eyes closed (but not sleeping) or getting lost in a good book.

55

34

Even sorting out the shit in my room is a lot more fun when I’m alone.

63

Three: Teaching is actually kind of fun. Provided you have the right student, of course.

40

For the past month and a half I’ve been teaching my brother-in-law English, and it’s actually quite a rewarding experience. Of course this doesn’t mean I want to go and teach other people. My brother-in-law is a special case, he makes me laugh with his offbeat take on his homework. His progress is blogged by my sister here. Check it out and you’ll know why I actually enjoy teaching him.

Four: Dim Sum is the best brunch menu ever.

dim-sum

I haven’t had dim sum for ages, and I’ve been avoiding Chinese food with its porky goodness ever since I found out my cholesterol was off-the-charts and went on a strict diet, but today we decided to give our diet a break and indulge ourselves with dim sum for brunch. It was the best meal I’ve ever had in my life. Nothing beats a combination of steamed prawns, turnip cake, pork siu mai, and a steaming hot cup of Chinese tea when you’re feeling a little under the weather.

Five: sleeping in is the best part of any day.

19

I know, this sounds like a no-brainer, but I can’t tell you how good it feels when you don’t have to drag yourself out of your bed every morning and instead, can truly “rise and shine” after a good 8-hour sleep.

Six: I’m not a total cynic after all.

they-do_557x808

I actually shed a little tear when I watched the Jim and Pam wedding episode of The Office. And for someone like me, that’s a big deal. I hate weddings, I don’t want to get married, I’m allergic to cheesy romantic stuff – but somehow when I saw them exchange vows, somewhere between the tears of laughter – I feel all warm and gooey inside. I know they’re a fictional couple but I feel like I’ve invested so much in their relationship. I mean, I was there from the beginning, through all the pining and heartbreak until these two finally got it right and got together.I especially love it when Jim said,

I bought the boat tickets the day I saw that YouTube video. I knew we’d need a backup plan. The boat was actually plan C. The church was plan B. And plan A was marrying her a long, long time ago. Pretty much the day I met her.”

Aww. Could they BE any more perfect together?

I guess there is hope for me yet.

Seven: Sometimes you just have to wait until inspiration strikes again.

44

This isn’t the first time I’ve ever caught a case of the writer’s block and I am pretty sure it won’t be the last. And I used to get so stressed out about it – thinking that I must have been doing something wrong. But now I realized that sometimes you just can’t force it. The best thing to do is just to wait until inspiration strikes again. And while I wait, it’s always a good idea to open my eyes and mind to the world around me… and maybe, just maybe, inspiration comes at the unexpected moment.

Here’s hoping that it’ll strike sooner rather than later, though.

xoxo

Binky Bee

4 responses to “Blocked

  1. Hello, I am a writer too, I know what you are passing, it is hard especially if you are with a work undone, but that isn’t the hardest part (coldplay!).
    As you see you can be ironic with yourself, that helps a lot if are out of idea (like me), and you gets funny (and looks that I write horror stories), search literacy, et cetera.
    If you want to see my texts enter into my blog (skdisciple.wordpress.com, not that who is listed in my name), I write poetry also (my texts are not all horror at all).

    Ps.:Yes, I love parentesis.

  2. Hey hey, you’ve quoted the line ‘can’t tell my left from my right’ about Finn, and I was wondering if you remember what episode that was from? I saw it, and then promptly forgot, and my friend wants to know, because it’s completely me! (being a leftie, my brains wired the wrong way, she finds it hilarious!)
    Thanks 🙂 xxx

  3. Hi Emma, sorry it took me so long to respond… for some reason my email sent all WordPress emails to spam! I hate when that happens. Didn’t mean to ignore you. 🙂 Wow, I don’t really remember which episode that quote was from, I think either episode three or four in the first season. Sorry I couldn’t be more help!

Leave a Reply

