Where Have All The Songwriters Gone?

I am the son and the heir,

Of a shyness that is criminally vulgar…

I am the son and heir

Of nothing in particular…”

Every time I listen to The Smiths’ How Soon Is Now, I always think: “Wow. They just don’t make em like that anymore.”

smiths

Morrissey is a genius in writing songs, that’s true, but you gotta admit, these days songwriting is just not as good as back when The Smiths and Morrissey were all the rage.

I mean, nobody writes lyrics like:

And if a double-decker bus,

Crashes into us,

To die by your side is such a heavenly way to die…”

Anymore, right? Morrissey just knows how to write really dark emotions without sounding like a pretentious douche. And now that he’s no longer in the music scene, there seems to be a huge hole to fill.

morrissey

I think the reason why his lyrics are so hauntingly beautiful is because despite the dark emotions, it’s still really honest and we all can relate somehow.

I love this part from Stop Me (If You Think That You’ve Heard This One Before):

Nothing’s changed, I still love you

Only slightly, only slightly less than I used to, my love…”

Don’t you just love that? It’s honest in a way – and sometimes I do wish I could say it to some people. “I still love you, only slightly less than I used to.” Genius.

So where have all the songwriters gone? How come nobody writes songs like Morrissey anymore? All the songs that are popular these days have almost the same type of lyrics, and love songs are peppered with too many cliches and corny lines.

No one ever says, “To die by your side, well the pleasure, the privilege is mine.” to convey love anymore.

It’s a little sad.

Maybe that’s why I’m blocked. Music usually inspires me so  much and now it’s just boring.

Or maybe I’m just in a bad mood from my writer’s block.

Ah well.

2 responses to “Where Have All The Songwriters Gone?

  1. All the good songwriters actually died off in the late 1800s–or at least you’ve got George Eliot to thank for the lines in How Soon Is Now 🙂

  2. Haha. That is so true! Isn’t it sad? ;p

Leave a Reply

