I Define: Love

I just started a new blog where I share with the world the opinions of various women from different countries and cultures on various subject matters that make up this thing called “life”.

friends2

These women all “meet” in this site and they become friends and sisters, united by one common passion for fashion.

Say what you will about the fashion industry, but I think it’s quite ignorant to just label something “superficial” just because it’s pretty to look at.

If you check out the blog and read all the definitions of love that these women have be gracious enough to share with me, you will see that we are not that superficial and that we all can have an opinion, and a good one at that.

friends1

LOVE was the first thing that I asked them to define, and I got a great response from them. They all tried to define love the best way they can, the best way they understand it.

What was missing from the compilation was actually my own definition of what love is.

love

And the reason for that is… because love is one of those things that is really hard to define. I applaud these ladies for being able to come up with their own definitions, because I’m a writer, I write about love but I haven’t really been able to formulate my own definition.

But I’m going to try. So here goes…

Love is…

A decision to give yourself fully, without any hidden agenda or motives.

chuckblair

But I am me, and you are you. We’re Chuck and Blair. Blair and Chuck. The worst thing you’ve ever done, the darkest thought you’ve ever had – I will stand by you through anything.” – Blair Waldorf, Gossip Girl.

Accepting the other person as they are; with all their faults, oddities, craziness, annoying habits, and imperfections.

love_actually5

Look, in my opinion, the best thing you can do is find a person who loves you for exactly what you are. Good mood, bad mood, ugly, pretty, handsome, what have you, the right person is still going to think the sun shines out your ass. That’s the kind of person that’s worth sticking with.” – Mac McGuff, Juno.

Forgiveness.

forgive

There is no love without forgiveness, and there is no forgiveness without love.” – Bryant H. McGill, Author and Poet.

Sacrifice. It doesn’t have to be a grand gesture, it can just be doing something you don’t particularly want or like to do to make that person happy.

sacrifice

Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” – Jesus.

Difficult. It takes hard work and a daily decision to not let situations and circumstances to stop you from loving others. It’s especially difficult to love when you don’t feel like it – but I believe that love is not a feeling or emotion. Sometimes you just don’t feel it, but you love anyway.

difficult

To love is good too: love being difficult. For one human being to love another: that is perhaps the most difficult of all our tasks, the ultimate, the last test and proof, the work for which all other work is but preparation.” – Rainer Maria Rilke, Letters To A Young Poet.

But in the end, it has to start from yourself. I believe you can’t truly love others until you truly love yourself. Any definition of love will be quite useless if you can’t love the very person that you’re stuck with for the rest of eternity: your self.

86

To love oneself is the beginning of a lifelong romance.” – Oscar Wilde, An Ideal Husband.

Now that I’ve shared my definition, go check out the definitions of love from other women from all different parts of the world here.

xoxo

Binky Bee

Leave a Reply

