Smile, It’s Friday

536

It’s the weekend! Which means, no more dragging yourself out of bed in the morning, showing up to work just to sit behind the computer all day and listening to mindless chatter of the person in the cubicle next to you, or driving in peak hour traffic. It’s time to have fun.

I don’t know what your plans are this weekend, but I just thought of a few fun things to do on the weekend – and even though I may end up not doing any of it… I thought it’d be good to put it out there. Just in case.

Here’s my weekend suggestions:

One/ Spend the day in bed with a loved one.

46

It doesn’t have to be your “significant other”, but I think instead of going out doing the same things (movies, dinner, clubbing, etc), it can be fun just to chill in bed – even if it’s only with your cat. Pop in a DVD and just get lost in an “alternate reality”. May I suggest my favorite movie at the moment, 500 Days of Summer?

Two/ Go record/CD shopping and then play the music out loud in your room.

66

There are a lot of good music that just came out recently. My favorite TV show Glee has just released its soundtrack filled with good music sung by the cast (with special guest star Kristin Chenoweth). Staying in the soundtrack genre, despite my hatred of everything Twilight (in the exception of the gorgeous Kristen Stewart, who will remain an indie queen in my eyes), I have to admit that the New Moon soundtrack album is actually pretty great. It’s got great songs by artists I love like Death Cab For Cutie, Lykke Li, The Killers, Muse and Thom Yorke among others. It’s like indie heaven.

Three/ Curl up in bed or on the couch with a cup of coffee and a really good book.

99

Feel free to substitute “coffee” with “tea” or “hot chocolate”, if you’re not into caffeine.

Four/ Sleep in.

116

It’s the weekend. You have every excuse to enjoy a 10, 12-hour sleep. I say go for it. Especially if you’re single with no kids. Sleep is a luxury you can’t afford not to enjoy.

Five/ Clean out your closet or room.

137

Even if you’ve got someone doing it for you (either you have maids or you live with your mother, or both like me), it’s always good to edit out all the junk from your closet or your room. Nina Garcia of Project Runway fame taught me that in her book “The Little Black Book of Style”. It’s a chance for you to be your own fashion editor.

Six/ Go to a party or club with your girl friends and get ready together.

139

This one’s not for the guys, unless you’re the kind of guy that likes to get dressed together with other guys (no judgment here, I’m all for it!). But one of the fun things about going out with your girl friends is the getting ready together part. Four girls cramming in a small bathroom, trying on each other’s clothes, who says you can’t do those things once you’re an adult?

Seven/ Go out and play in the rain.

176

I just did this very thing an hour ago. I put on my rain boots and went to the back patio to dance in the rain. There’s something so liberating about it. Give it a try. I also suggest blasting Billy Idol’s “Dancing With Myself” while you’re doing it.

Eight/ Invite your best friend to have a sleepover and just do crazy girly things all night long.

196

Again, who says you can’t do this once you’re an adult? Relive your teenage years and just have fun with your BFF, and this time you can actually consume some alcohol without sneaking around! Play movie montage and try on the most ridiculous costumes, give each other facials or manicures, or even a makeover. Just don’t crank call your ex – that’s just a little too childish, even for me.

Nine/ Take a drive somewhere, anywhere.

199

This is something that my mom and I do all time time when we’re bored during the weekend. We’d just get in the car and drive. Well, she drives – I navigate. Destination unknown. We’d just drive and the destination will come to us after a while. It’s fun, spontaneous and, provided there’s no traffic jam, completely stress-free.

Ten/ Play dress up.

209

If you have no one to spend the weekend with, this is a great way to have fun all by yourself. Take out all your clothes from the closet – and start trying out different “looks” by the mirror. Take a picture if you want. And the best part is, you’ve got so many different outfit choices for Monday.

Eleven/ If it’s a nice day out, go to a park and have a picnic lunch.

222

You’ll get to enjoy a nice sunny day, get a tan and eat good food. Not to mention, it’s always fun to people watch in the park.

Twelve/ Go to the beach.

263

This is something I did all the time when I was living in Sydney, Australia. Sydney has so many great beaches that it’s always fun to drive out there with my friends and just hang out. Especially when we’re low on cash.

Thirteen/ Go shopping.

267

I know times are tough now, but I always believe in the old adage “When the going gets tough, the tough goes shopping”. And besides, you’re actually helping the economy by shopping. It’s been proven. I think.

Fourteen/ Go to a karaoke bar and sing your heart out.

525

Or in the case of my next door neighbor, have a really loud and tone deaf karaoke session in your living room. Yes, you’ll torture everyone within a 50-mile radius, but if you can’t be selfish on the weekend, when can you?

So what’s your plan for the weekend?

xoxo

Binky Bee

 

 

 

 

15 responses to “Smile, It’s Friday

  1. I think using a combo approach of your suggestions would be great: sleep in, play at the beach, and the then singing my heart out.–but, with little kiddos, the taking a drive and going out and playing in the rain are more likely.

    Enjoy your weekend time!

  2. Love this entry. Sadly I work tomorrow ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. I’m going for nr. 2, 4 (7 if I had a padio and didn’t live on the 3rd floor) and definately nr. 14!

  4. I like your suggestions. I would most like to do number 1,2,3 and 4.
    …But unfortunately I have to work all weekend.
    Have a nice weekend!

  5. Thanks for all your comments. Enjoy your weekend! xo

  6. do you have an account at ffffound.com? if so, how do i get one???!!

  7. No, I don’t. I just saved the photos I love into my computer. I don’t really know how to register – but I think you can just sign up for it and you’d have to install the image bookmarking add-on. Sorry I can’t be more help!

  8. These are all great suggestions! I’m starting the weekend off by staying up as late as I want and there will probably also be a lot of movie watching and internet lounging too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Haha These are excellent!
    Maybe it’s because I’m still in highschool but I still have to do “work” on the weekends technically. And it sucks I used to enjoy weekends (movies, music, shopping, going out, hanging out) so much and now it’s all studying and looking up definitions ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I really love your blog, I check it almost as frequently as my other “everyday” websites (like facebook, email, etc.).

    Keep blogging– you most definitley have a knack for it. I’m hooked.

    And I really want to see 500 days of summer! Hopefully I’ll get a chance this weekend. Better go finish my work in time ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! You’re so sweet! I’ll keep blogging for sure. And yes, you really need to see 500 Days of Summer. It’s funny and heartfelt. And you can learn something valuable about relationships ;p

      @thestarlightwriter4u: Keep me posted! ;p

  10. spending it with my boyfriend!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I love all the suggestions. Now I’m going to get in my vehicle and drive to the beach as fast as my car can legally take me. So what if it’s actually Monday now:)

  12. nice choices.. probably you could suggest me some.. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

