Now Playing

I love watching movies, but lately I’ve been too much of a hermit to actually go out to the movies – except for that week in October where I actually managed to see not one but two movies: Inglourious Basterds (awesome!) and Fame (more like, “Lame”) because my mom was in Holland and I got the car and driver all to myself – so mostly I only watch movies on DVD (and sometimes online too).

Now you may have seen these movies, you may not – but here are some of the movies I’ve seen in the past week or so, and my take on them:

One/ The September Issue, 2009, documentary.

If you don’t like or even care about fashion, you may not enjoy this documentary as much as I do, but I live and breathe fashion so I truly enjoyed this one. Anna Wintour has always been such an enigma in the fashion world, what with her being the inspiration for the character Miranda Priestly in the popular book-turned-movie The Devil Wears Prada, and she’s the one woman that can make all those big-named fashion designers tremble at the mention of her name, so it’s a treat to finally see the “real” her in this documentary. And surprisingly enough, she’s not the dictator is 5-inch Louboutin heels as most of us imagined her to be. In “The September Issue” you see her as the true visionary; she was the one who came up with the idea of putting celebrities in the cover of fashion magazines, and she continues to nurture up-and-coming designers (like Thakoon, for example) because she sees something in them that no one can see just yet. She’s ruthless all right, and often times she stressed out and frustrated her subordinates like her Creative Director Grace Coddington who has worked in Vogue for 40 years (yes, four-zero) with her decisions but in the end, if she weren’t that ruthless, Vogue wouldn’t be the number one fashion magazine in the universe. Her decisions may not please everyone, but she can see beyond what most people see and that’s her true strength. I recommend you to watch this movie if you love fashion, work in a magazine or a leader of some kind. The fact that Ms Wintour can have such charisma without having to raise her voice is something all leaders should learn from.

Two/ Julie & Julia, 2009, biography/comedy.

I got this movie especially for my mom, because she loves to cook and to chronicle her adventures in the kitchen in her blog. I didn’t expect to like it too much but surprisingly enough, I do enjoy it. Amy Adams is so endearing as Julie Powell, she’s such an amazing actress and she could very well be the next Merryl Streep. And of course Merryl Streep is Merryl Streep, she’s always amazing in any role and this was no exception. I had no idea who Julia Child was (I’m sometimes unabashedly ignorant when it comes to certain things, and I don’t like to cook) until I heard about this movie, but apparently she was pitch-perfect as the infamous cook. However, make sure you have enough snack to munch on while watching the movie because all the food will surely make you hungry.

Three/ Spread, 2009, drama/romance.

I only watched this movie for Sebastian Stan, because I think he’s a great actor and he’s also really really hot, and I have to say I was pretty disappointed. First, he only appeared for about 10 minutes in the whole movie and second, this movie feels more like Ashton Kutcher’s vanity project than anything. I think it tries to be deep but it falls short due to a weak plot and half-baked storyline. American Gigolo it is not. But if you like Ashton Kutcher and want to see him naked, a lot, you can definitely give this movie a try.

Four/ The Hangover, 2009, comedy.

There is a reason why this R-Rated comedy did so well in the box office, it is THAT hilarious. The premise of this movie is simple: four guys went to Vegas for the ultimate bachelor party, and they woke up in the morning with a tiger in the bathroom, a baby in the closet, a missing groom and having no recollection whatsoever of the crazy night they just had. What ensued later was a series of hilarious events as they try to locate their missing friend, and remember the night before. Look out for cameos by Mike Tyson and the always funny Ken Jeong. If you’re a fan of Swingers, I guarantee you won’t be disappointed with this one.

Five/ The Ugly Truth, 2009, romantic comedy.

This movie has all the makings of a successful romantic comedy: dashing but womanizing leading man, beautiful but neurotic leading lady, a fake orgasm at the dinner table, and the classic man vs woman debate. But the problem with it is just that. It’s so damn predictable. We know from the get-go that Katherine Heigl’s character will fall in love with Gerard Butler’s character and they’d live happily ever after (sort of), and sorry if I spoil it for anyone who hasn’t seen this movie yet, we get exactly what we expected. However, it is pretty entertaining to see Katherine Heigl and Gerard Butler go at it. I’d say watch this movie without any expectations and you’ll be quite entertained. But no, you won’t get more than that.

Six/ The Broken Hearts Club, 2000, romantic comedy.

For an unconventional romantic comedy with a lot of heart and truth, I suggest you scour your favorite DVD store for a copy of this movie. Written and directed by Greg Berlanti, the man behind Everwood and Brothers & Sisters, this movie is about a group of gay men in Los Angeles who tries to deal with being gay, loneliness, commitment-issues and self-image, in other words, being human. This movie is probably the first “gay” movie that depicts them as real people, instead of “noble, suffering AIDS victims, the friends of noble suffering AIDS victims, sex addicts, common street hustlers and stylish confidantes to lovelorn women” as Howie so eloquently puts it. This is like the gay version of Sex and The City with a lot more heart and a lot less cliche. I recommend you give this movie a try, even if it’s only to ogle Timothy Olyphant, Zach Braff and Dean Cain in their younger days.

Seven/ Transformers 2: Revenge of The Fallen, 2009, action.

If you haven’t seen both this movie and District 9, do me a favor: watch this first. Not because it’s better, because it’s much worse and if you’ve seen District 9 first then you won’t be able to actually finish watching this movie without falling asleep or dying from boredom. And I’m not exactly exaggerating. District 9 was so amazing that it kinda ruined all other alien-robot type movie for me, and no amount of Shia LaBeouf in all his “LaBeouf”-ness can convince me to continue watching this movie (I gave up after 39 minutes and 20 seconds). I just realized why I had to suffer through screaming children running up and down the cinema steps when I saw the first Transformers movie, this franchise is so not for anyone over 15. Sorry, Shia. You’ll always be a hottie to me, I just can’t watch this one.

Eight/ Twilight, 2008, drama/romance.

Yes, I know I’m aboard the Twilight-bashing bandwagon, but I decided that I have no right to make fun of something if I don’t at least try to watch it first, so after much hesitation, I saw the movie a few days ago. And, I still don’t understand the phenomenon that is Twilight. I haven’t read the book series, so maybe that’s the reason for the fan-demonium, but the movie alone just doesn’t explain why everyone seems to be going insane for these vampires. I thought the plot was weak, the acting was mediocre (I’m so disappointed, Kristen Stewart, I know you’re better than this) and Edward, the one that teen girls all over the world fall madly in love with, is kinda pathetic and whiny. There’s a reason why 17-year-old boys shouldn’t have that kind of superpower, they’ll just whine about it instead of using it to be awesome. And I had a big problem with the sparkling. Call me old school, but I like my vampires to be living in old mansion, sleeping in coffins and burning in sunlight. Give me Gary Oldman or Alexander Skarsgard any day.

Nine/ The Assassination of A High School President, 2008, comedy.

I didn’t expect much from this movie when I bought it, to be honest. It was just another indie movie that I had to buy because I’m a sucker for anything indie. But I was pleasantly surprised. It’s funny, smart and it has a lot of good moments. It’s no Charlie Bartlett, but it’s up there in the entertaining department. I thought Mischa Barton was actually good in this role and not annoying or pathetic as she usually is in The OC or her short-lived CW comeback show The Beautiful Life. And Luke Grimes, who we may know better as William Walker’s illegitimate son Ryan in Brothers & Sisters, showed some real good acting. Of course the gem of the movie is Bruce Willis, who is so seriously funny that you can’t help but laugh out loud whenever he enters the scene. No harm in giving this one a try.

So those were the 9 movies that were playing in my DVD player in the past week or so. If you’ve seen them, let me know what you think.

xoxo

Binky Bee

6 responses to “Now Playing

  1. I’ve seen two of these movies.
    The September Issue – which I loved. It was really interesting to get to know something more about Anna Wintour and I fell in love with Grace Coddington, she’s amazing!
    I’ve also seen The Ugly Truth. And as you say… very predictable. But surprisingly entertaining though. And Gerard Butler is… Well. Handsome.

    I really want to see Julie & Julia and the Broken Hearts Club sounds interesting.

    🙂

  2. Your honest about Twilight is refreshing. Always worth the stop here so I can learn something.

  3. You reminded me that I never saw District 9 so THAT I will have to watch this weekend!

    The Ugly Truth seems like a light and fun movie to watch too.

    If I saw Twilight before I read the book, I would definitely think the movie and storyline sucked too. I highly suggest you get the first book. It’s actually quite good as long as you keep reminding yourself it’s a modern day take on vampires. 😉

    Oh and don’t delete your twitter acct! That place needs more creative people on there!

  4. Thanks everyone.

    And no, I won’t delete my Twitter acct – especially now that Neil Patrick Harris is on twitter… how can I? ;p

  5. You should really read the Twilight books. Although I personally like the movie (I’m not sure why because the critic inside of me is saying, “this is really kind of garbage”) the books are a lot better.

    Plus you get to put your own imagination into the settings and characters, while the movie takes that away.

    I’m going to see New Moon tomorrow. I have a feeling it will be better than the original Twilight film, but we shall see ( :

  6. So glad to see someone else loves Broken Hearts Club too. Totally underrated movie and probably the first time I ever saw Zach Braff. How adorable is Timothy Olyphant in this? 🙂

Leave a Reply

