He’s Lost Control

It’s Black Friday, and I’m down with the flu so I took a little break from writing. It’s going good, by the way. Even with my stuffy nose my muse still sticks around so I really have no reason to complain.

I saw a movie the other day, it’s been out a while but since it’s indie, it was quite hard to get and I could only watch it online since I could never find it in my favorite DVD store.

The movie is called “Control” and it’s about the life (and death) of Ian Curtis, lead vocalist of the band Joy Division, directed by Dutch director Anton Corbijn. Control marked Corbijn’s debut as movie director (he was mostly known as music video director and photographer) and it was reported that he paid half of the € 4.5 million budget out of his own pocket.

Singer/model/actor Sam Riley (mostly known for being the face of the Burberry ad campaign) played legendary Ian Curtis, and he was phenomenal in his performance.

What’s more amazing about Sam Riley’s performance in the movie is that he had to sing all the Joy Division songs himself and not just lip-sync to the voice of the real Ian Curtis. And he sounded exactly like Ian Curtis, it was pretty unreal.

The movie is written by Matt Greenhalg based on Deborah Curtis’ (Ian’s widow) book “Touching From A Distance” and it started just before Ian met her in 1973 until his death on May 18, 1980. It detailed his journey, from his marriage to Debbie (when they were both in their late teens), to the forming of Joy Division, to the band’s success and his untimely death.

The movie also detailed his struggle with epilepsy, his rocky marriage and his extramarital affairs with a Belgian music journalist Annik Honore.

I love this movie because it really showed the inner struggle of the legendary Ian Curtis, his demons, his depression, his fears and his internal conflicts. His relationships with the two women in his life; Debbie and Annik were also approached in a beautiful way – that you don’t see him as this lying, cheating “rock star” but as a frail, confused and torn human being instead.

After a tired day of shopping, I recommend you getting this movie and just curl up on the couch being completely amazed by Sam Riley’s talents and the incredible vision of Anton Corbijn, especially if you’re a Joy Division fan like me. This is one movie that would remain as a cult classic, in my opinion.

Also, don’t be surprised with the fact that the whole movie is shot entirely in black and white. I think, aside from capturing the feel of the era, it also successfully captured the dark and tormented soul of one Ian Curtis – and you’re left with this haunting feeling hours after you’ve seen it.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

xoxo

Binky Bee

4 responses to “He’s Lost Control

  1. I hope you feel better soon.

  2. Man I love Joy Division. So tragic what happened to him. Now I’m going out to find this so I can watch this fella weave his magic.
    Take care of yourself and get well!

  3. I love Joy Division. Sounds like a interesting movie. Thanks for the post.

  4. This is a great movie! I love JD. I love Ian. Too much love.

Leave a Reply

