Going For The Gold

The Golden Globes nominations were just announced yesterday morning (Tuesday, Dec 15) and as an avid movie and TV fan, of course I was watching to see if the Hollywood Foreign Press Association agrees with me when it comes to who deserves the honor. And I have to say, this year it’s not such a disappointment. Although they still snubbed some of my favorite actors, actresses, movies and TV shows, they showed some love to a lot of them. So, while the nominees are still celebrating, I thought I’d share the HPFA’s picks for the 2010 Golden Globes Award (airing January 17, 2010 on NBC) as well as my predictions and who I actually wish would win.

Note: Who I Think Will Win means who I think members of HPFA would vote for, and Who I Want To Win means well, who I want to win. 🙂

Also, not in this list: Best Foreign Language Film (because I have not seen any of them), Best Original Score & Song (because I’d have no idea how to judge), Best Mini-Series/Motion Picture Made For Television as well as the actress and actor because again, I have only seen about one or two of them. For the complete list, check it out here.

Okay, let’s begin!

Best Motion Picture – Drama

Avatar

The Hurt Locker

Inglourious Basterds

Precious: Based On The Novel Push by Sapphire

Up In The Air

Who I Think Will Win: Precious: Based On The Novel Push by Sapphire. (The movie was powerful, and it’s the type of movie that HFPA usually goes for)

Who I Want To Win: Inglourious Basterds. (My favorite film of 2009, enough said)

Best Performance By An Actress In A Motion Picture – Drama

Emily Blunt – The Young Victoria

Sandra Bullock – The Blind Side

Helen Mirren – The Last Station

Carey Mulligan – An Education

Gabourey Sidibe – Precious: Based On The Novel Push by Sapphire

Who I Think Will Win: Gabourey Sidibe (she was truly amazing in this breakout role)

Who I Want To Win: Sandra Bullock (it’s just nice to see Sandra in a role that is different than what she’s usually in)

Best Performance By An Actor In A Motion Picture – Drama

Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart

George Clooney – Up In The Air

Colin Firth – A Single Man

Morgan Freeman – Invictus

Tobey Maguire – Brothers

Who I Think Will Win: Morgan Freeman (he plays Nelson Mandela, that says it all)

Who I Want To Win: George Clooney (I love him. He’s my ex-future husband. Yep.)

Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

(500) Days Of Summer

The Hangover

It’s Complicated

Julie & Julia

Nine

Who I Think Will Win: Nine (Haven’t seen it yet, but it’s an all-star musical in the style of Moulin Rouge, we all know HFPA loves that)

Who I Want To Win: (500) Days Of Summer (It’s such a cute, quirky, non-romantic romantic comedy with a fresh take on love. My favorite movie of the genre ever)

Best Performance By An Actress In A Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

Sandra Bullock – The Proposal

Marion Cotillard – Nine

Julia Roberts – Duplicity

Meryl Streep – It’s Complicated

Meryl Streep – Julie & Julia

Who I Think Will Win: Meryl Streep (She’s a double nominee in this category, the odds are in her favor)

Who I Want To Win: Marion Cotillard (I actually don’t know how she was in Nine, since I haven’t seen it yet, but I’ve loved her since Love Me If You Dare/Jeux D’enfants so I’m going to have to pick her. Besides, Streep has enough Golden Globes and Oscars to last her a lifetime)

Best Performance By An Actor In A Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

Matt Damon – The Informant!

Daniel Day-Lewis – Nine

Robert Downey Jr. – Sherlock Holmes

Joseph Gordon-Levitt – (500) Days Of Summer

Michael Stuhlbarg – A Serious Man

Who I Think Will Win: Matt Damon (He was pretty amazing in the movie, and I applaud his commitment to the role)

Who I Want To Win: Robert Downey Jr. (He’s RDJ. He’s awesome in everything. And yes, I mean EVERYTHING.)

Best Performance By An Actress In A Supporting Role In A Motion Picture

Penelope Cruz – Nine

Vera Farmiga – Up In The Air

Anna Kendrick – Up In The Air

Mo’Nique – Precious: Based On The Novel Push by Sapphire

Julianne Moore – A Single Man

Who I Think Will Win: Mo’Nique

Who I Want To Win: Mo’Nique (Let’s face it: Mo’Nique was phenomenal in the movie, it’s not easy to play an abusive mother that we can all still feel sorry for)

Best Performance By An Actor In A Supporting Role In A Motion Picture

Matt Damon – Invictus

Woody Harrelson – The Messenger

Christopher Plummer – The Last Station

Stanley Tucci – The Lovely Bones

Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds

Who I Think Will Win: Christoph Waltz

Who I Want To Win: Christoph Waltz (If he doesn’t win, I will be VERY upset. I’m not the only one who think Christoph Waltz was beyond amazing as Hans Landa – everyone, from my friends to renowned movie critics, even fellow actors have spoken publicly about the awesomeness of Mr. Waltz in Inglourious Basterds)

Best Animated Feature Film

Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs

Coraline

Fantastic Mr. Fox

The Princess and The Frog

Up

Who I Think Will Win: Up

Who I Want To Win: Up (By far, the best Disney/Pixar animation flick since Finding Nemo. And as much as I love Gaiman’s Coraline, I nearly cried when watching Up, which is the second time a freakin’ cartoon has ever made me so emotional – the first time was Finding Nemo, of course)

Best Director – Motion Picture

Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker

James Cameron – Avatar

Clint Eastwood – Invictus

Jason Reitman – Up In The Air

Quentin Tarantino – Inglourious Basterds

Who I Think Will Win: Clint Eastwood (It’s been a while since he’s won one of these, and I know HFPA loves him)

Who I Want To Win: Quentin Tarantino (He’s my favorite director, and let’s face it, no one else can make a WW II flick like Inglourious Basterds)

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture

District 9: Written by Neil Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell

The Hurt Locker: Written by Mark Boal

Inglourious Basterds: Written by Quentin Tarantino

It’s Complicated: Written by Nancy Meyers

Up In The Air: Written by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner

Who I Think Will Win: The Hurt Locker, written by Mark Boal (It’s a small, independent movie on the Iraq war. Just the kind of movie HFPA usually goes for)

Who I Want To Win: District Nine, written by Neil Blomkamp and Terry Tatchell (There’s just nothing like it. It’s different, and it’s mind-blowingly good)

Best Television Series – Drama

Big Love (HBO)

Dexter (Showtime)

House (Fox)

Mad Men (AMC)

True Blood (HBO)

Who I Think Will Win: Mad Men (Let’s face it, it’s a critic and audience favorite. And the story is always solid from episode to episode)

Who I Want To Win: True Blood (Truth to tell, I just want to see Alexander Skarsgard go up on stage in all his 6 foot 4 inches tall blondness)

Best Performance By An Actress In A Television Series – Drama

Glenn Close – Damages

January Jones – Mad Men

Julianne Marguiles – The Good Wife

Anna Paquin – True Blood

Kyra Sedgwick – The Closer

Who I Think Will Win: Glenn Close (Damages didn’t really have a strong second season, but she still carried the show on her back and gave a phenomenal performance)

Who I Want To Win: January Jones (Betty Draper is such a complex character, and she plays her with such subtlety and tackles some really difficult scenes with ease last season. I say she deserves the love)

Best Performance By An Actor In A Television Series – Drama

Simon Baker – The Mentalist

Michael C. Hall – Dexter

Jon Hamm – Mad Men

Hugh Laurie – House

Bill Paxton – Big Love

Who I Think Will Win: Jon Hamm (Mad Men won big in the Emmys last year, but he lost the Best Actor Emmy to Bryan Cranston. Seeing that HFPA snubbed Cranston and Breaking Bad, I think he’s a sure win)

Who I Want To Win: Michael C. Hall (He’s been nominated almost every year for Dexter but hasn’t taken home the Globes yet. I think he deserves to win, especially since it’s a next-to-impossible task to make us love a serial killer the way we love Dexter. I’m just saying)

Best Television Series – Musical or Comedy

30 Rock (NBC)

Entourage (HBO)

Glee (Fox)

Modern Family (Fox)

The Office (NBC)

Who I Think Will Win: Glee

Who I Want To Win: Glee (Let’s face it: Glee is fresh, hilarious and surprisingly different than anything else on TV. I think HFPA will agree with me on this one)

Best Performance By An Actress In A Television Series – Musical or Comedy

Toni Collette – United States of Tara

Courteney Cox – Cougar Town

Edie Falco – Nurse Jackie

Tina Fey – 30 Rock

Lea Michele – Glee

Who I Think Will Win: Toni Collette

Who I Want To Win: Toni Collette (Each and every single woman in this category did a fantastic job, but Toni Collette deserves the win since she essentially played four very different characters in the show. Not to mention, she’s Australian. So not only does she have to don an American accent, she has to play four people – sort of.)

Best Performance By An Actor In A Television Series – Musical or Comedy

Alec Baldwin – 30 Rock

Steve Carell – The Office

David Duchovny – Californication

Thomas Jane – Hung

Matthew Morrison – Glee

Who I Think Will Win: Alec Baldwin

Who I Want To Win: Alec Baldwin (Of course I could be wrong and Thomas Jane ends up taking the Globes home, since HFPA usually has a soft spot for controversial freshman show, but I just don’t think any of the nominees really gave the kind of performance Alec Baldwin did.)

Best Performance by An Actress In A Supporting Role in A Series, Mini Series or Motion Picture Made For Television

Jane Adams – Hung

Rose Byrne – Damages

Jane Lynch – Glee

Janet McTeer – Into The Storm

Chloe Sevigny – Big Love

Who I Think Will Win: Jane Lynch

Who I Want To Win: Jane Lynch (Hands down, Ms Lynch is a definite scene-stealer in Glee. She delivers the funniest lines and has the perfect comedic timing, not to mention she manages to portray both the evil and the sweet side of Sue Sylvester with such ease. As much as I love Chloe Sevigny, she just can’t compare to Jane Lynch this time)

Best Performance By An Actor In A Supporting Role In A Series, Mini Series or Motion Picture Made For Television

Michael Emerson – Lost

Neil Patrick Harris – How I Met Your Mother

William Hurt – Damages

John Lithgow – Dexter

Jeremy Piven – Entourage

Who I Think Will Win: Michael Emerson (I don’t watch Lost – I know, shocker! – but I have heard enough about how amazing he was in it from everyone else and from every TV blog I’ve read to know that he will probably win this one, plus he did just win an Emmy)

Who I Want To Win: Neil Patrick Harris (I love NPH. He’s my “imaginary gay husband” and I think he’s solely responsible for the awesomeness of Barney Stinson. In Short, NPH is legen-wait for it, and I hope you’re not lactose intolerant because the last syllable is-dary!)

Now before I go, here are the people/shows/movies that were snubbed that I thought should’ve gotten some love:

  • Zooey Deschanel for (500) Days of Summer (If you nominate Joseph Gordon-Levitt, you should nominate his co-star too, since she truly shines in the movie)
  • Jim Parsons for The Big Bang Theory (Sheldon Cooper is the only thing that consistently stays funny, fresh and interesting in the show, and it’s all because of Jim Parsons’ fantastic acting)
  • Alexander Skarsgard for True Blood (Not only is he a Swedish sex god, I thought he did a really great job playing Eric Northman last season. The scene when he was crying over Godric, that was some great acting right there!)
  • Jeffrey Donovan for Burn Notice (why no love for USA Network, HFPA? I get that you chose The Mentalist over Psych, but burning Michael Westen? Seriously?)
  • Katherine Heigl for Grey’s Anatomy (I thought the fact that she portrayed cancer-stricken Dr. Izzie Stevens would surely get her a nomination. Maybe HFPA is afraid she’ll reject the nod?)
  • Adam Sandler for Funny People (They nominated James Franco for Pineapple Express last year yet they snubbed Sandler’s amazing performance in Funny People? What were HFPA members smoking?)
  • Maria Bello for The Private Lives of Pippa Lee (I even said in my last post that I predicted a Golden Globes nomination for her role as Suky Sarkisian. She was amazing! I don’t get it…)
  • Coco Avant Chanel for Best Foreign Language Film (I know I didn’t list the category here and I haven’t seen a lot of Foreign films lately, but this biopic is pretty spectacular, I thought it would get nominated)

What do you think? Who do you predict will take home the Globes? Who do you think deserve to be nominated? Will you be watching the telecast in January? Who are you rooting for?

Sound off below.

xoxo

Binky Bee

5 responses to “Going For The Gold

  1. i saw 500 days of summer and still can’t believe it was nominated… it was painful, too long and the only fun/interesting part was the oddly placed musical number – it was as if the movie didn’t know what it wanted to be: funny, serious, musical???? i don’t get it.

    Inglourious Basterds – it was ok, but not outstanding … i probably wouldn’t watch it again, which is sort of how i rate movies…would you watch it again? buy the DVD?

    i liked Julie and Julia- but only the Julia part and that could have been the entire movie for me-could have done without the whining and bad bf behavior …
    District 9 was very creative, if you know anything about south africa it makes more sense.

    i do like Glee – just a great guilty pleasure show.

    loved the Channel movie…will most likely buy this one and Coraline…and the Hangover

    still want to see Crazy Heart and few others…

    one surprise was no nomination for Katy Sagal in Sons of Anarchy. She plays an amazing sexual take no prisoners mother figure
    and where was Star Trek? that movie was so much better than Inglourious Basterds which i think got it’s nod because of Brad’s bad but funny accent.

    it’s all fun … just love to get lost there in the dark and let them take me away …

  2. I enjoy your informed opinion Blinky. The Mrs. took our 3rd grader to see Up and loved it as well.

    Happy weekend to you.

  3. Er, that previous comment should say “Binky” if I could type that is…

  4. I love your movie posts, though they make me feel like I’m really out of touch with movies. The only thing I see regulary is Glee since it’s on Hulu. The season shouldn’t have ended because it’s too entertaining. You’ve added some must-see movies to my list. Can I also tell you how much I totally have a crush on Robert Downey Jr?

  5. Hey, how are u? where have u been? I miss your up-dates.

Leave a Reply

