My 12 Days of Christmas Countdown: Eighth Day

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me; two black swans, one kick-ass tween and a country-singing queen bee. 🙂 Welcome back to another day of My (quite ambitious) 12 Days of Christmas Countdown. If you’re getting bored with this already, I’m sorry. But it’s not my fault that it’s 12 Days of Christmas instead of three. Anyway, I’ve covered the 10 Movie Screen Scorchers yesterday so naturally today is all about the ladies. Who are this year’s most fabulous big screen actresses? Let’s get right to it.

My Top 10 Fabulous Big Screen Ladies of 2010

1/ Natalie Portman, Black Swan.

This time last year, Sandra Bullock was the talk of Hollywood. Her performance in The Blind Side impressed the critics so much that she was getting a much-deserved Oscar buzz. Now, it’s Natalie Portman’s turn. Her performance in Black Swan got everyone a-buzzin’ and she’s pretty much got the Oscar nomination in the bag. And that’s why she’s our number one lady. She’s always been immensely talented, I remember seeing her in The Professional and being utterly amazed by her tour-de-force performance. She was only about 13 at the time. I knew winning an Oscar was only a matter of time for this Harvard graduate, and the time could be now. And if she doesn’t, hey, at least she’ll have something else to look forward to. Mazel Tov, Natalie!

2/ Mila Kunis, Black Swan.

Natalie Portman isn’t the only actress from Black Swan getting rave reviews and award nominations, and I couldn’t be happier for our number two lady. Not only is she one of my girl-crushes, she’s also a terrific actress who can nail both dramatic and comedic roles with such ease and grace. Kunis got her start in the hit Fox comedy That 70s Show, but when the careers of other That 70s Show stars seem to have stalled (even Kutcher’s), Kunis’ star continues to rise. I don’t know if she’s going to get an Oscar nomination, unlike Portman, her Globes and SAG nominations come as a total surprise, but even without it I have no doubt she’ll dominate the big screen. She’s beautiful, talented and surprisingly low-key. And those are all great qualities to have in this business.

3/ Chloe Grace Moretz, Kick-Ass/Let Me In.

I’m not usually a big fan of child actors. I find most of them, especially the girls, precocious and grating. But when I saw this tween actress in Kick-Ass, I changed my mind completely. She. Was. AWESOME. Some of my girl friends were horrified watching her violently kill people and fluently use coarse language (including the C-word) in the movie, but she totally rocked my world. And then I saw her in that vampire film Let Me In, the American adaptation of the Swedish movie “Let The Right One In”, and I was just in awe of her. I mean, she really put R-Pattz and his band of sparkly vampires to shame. She was tortured and evil at the same time, it’s amazing. And to think, she’s only 13! She may not be a “lady” yet, but she’s so fabulous she deserves a spot in this list.

4/ Michelle Williams, Blue Valentine.

When she started out on Dawson’s Creek, I don’t think we all quite expected that she would be the one with an impressive career – since the show was all about Katie Holmes’ Joey. But Katie Holmes is nothing more than Tom Cruise’s wife now while Michelle Williams is an Oscar-nominated actress, and a critics’ darling. Sure, most people pay attention to her because of Heath Ledger and his untimely death, but before and after Ledger, Williams have shown she’s an actress to be taken seriously. Now with Blue Valentine, I won’t be surprised if she gets nominated for another Oscar. And I bet it won’t be the last.

5/ Julianne Moore, The Kids Are All Right.

We may tease her fake Boston accent when she guest-starred in 30 Rock as Jack Donaghy’s long lost love, but we can’t deny her amazing performance in The Kids Are All Right. As Jules, she is funny, confusing, often frustrating and yet very likable, even after she cheats on her wife with Mark Rufallo. She takes a complex character and plays her in a very human way, giving us access and room to relate. And that’s just one of the reasons why she’s so fabulous. I don’t know if she’ll be nominated for an Oscar, but I have a feeling she might take home the Globes. You hear that HFPA? Give that trophy to Jules already!

6/ Annette Bening, The Kids Are All Right.

Remember when Annette Bening used to only be famous for being Warren Beatty’s wife? No? Neither do I, because this Mrs. Warren Beatty has been nominated for so many awards over the last decade that no one even seems to remember who she’s married to. There are only a few actresses in this world that can sell a movie to me (as in, I’ll watch the movie simply because she’s in it and no other reason), and Annette Bening is one of those few. I’m actually surprised she hasn’t won an Oscar yet, she shines in every role. If only both her and Julianne Moore can win in that Best Actress Comedy category at the Globes… ah, that would make me one very happy camper.

7/ Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone.

She’s still considered a newcomer now, but considering her critically-acclaimed performance in Winter’s Bone and the fact that she’ll be in the next X-Men movie, I’m thinking she’ll be a mega star before long. I actually didn’t know this girl before I saw Winter’s Bone, but now I’m totally in awe of her. Hollywood is filled with troubled and not that talented young actresses, so seeing this relative unknown carry an intense movie and a difficult role with such conviction just gives me hope that Hollywood is not lacking in talent after all.

8/ Emma Stone, Easy A.

If you thought Emma Stone was charming and fun in Superbad, you’re going to fall in love with her, like majorly, in Easy A. She wasn’t only charming, she was funny, self-assured and brilliant. Yeah, sure, playing a seventeen-year-old dealing with nasty high school rumors may not seem like a stretch, compared to, feather-plucking ballerina for example, but as Lindsay Lohan proves in Mean Girls, it’s not that easy either. And this redhead succeeds where Lohan failed, she actually can act. If Tina Fey ever thinks of writing another teen comedy, she should have Emma Stone’s number on speed-dial.

9/ Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World.

She wasn’t on my radar before Scott Pilgrim, but after seeing her rock a blue (and sometimes green and red) hair in the film, I have a major girl-crush on her. She has primarily been called a “scream queen” thanks to her roles in various horror films like Final Destination 3 and The Thing, but I think she can move up to comic book hero any time soon. Have they cast the new Mary Jane for Spiderman yet? She and Andrew Garfield will so burn up the screen!

10/ Leighton Meester, Country Strong.

I know Gwyneth Paltrow is the star of the country music drama, but just like her character in the movie, Ms Meester is slowly stealing the spotlight. First of all, despite her failed attempt at being a music star, she actually sounds amazing in the soundtrack, which got me thinking that she should’ve gone country instead of all pop R&B with Robin Thicke in the first place, and second, she already said that her contract with Gossip Girl is ending in two years, which means, considering the steady drop in quality, she’ll be free to star in more movies soon. Besides, we’ve already established that she’s a way better actress than Blake Lively. She’s the queen bee after all.

And that wraps up my Top 10 Fabulous Big Screen Ladies of 2010. I hope you’re still enjoying my 12 Days of Christmas series, I’ll be back tomorrow with the Top 10 Worst Movies of 2010. Don’t worry, I won’t forget to include The Tourist. 🙂

Until then,

xoxo

Binky Bee

 

Leave a Reply

